The History of the Ashes Cricket Series

The Ashes began in 1882 with a single match, rather than a Test, between the English and Australian cricket teams. Australia defeated England and it was from there that the term ‘Ashes’ was born. It originated from an English newspaper article written like an obituary likening England’s defeat to a death.

The Ashes Urn stands at just 11cm tall but has immense sentimental value for its size. It’s believed to contain the ashes of a burnt bail and the urn has become the symbol of the Ashes Series.

Over the years, what we’ve seen in the victorious Ashes celebrations today is a replica of the original urn. Since the 1998-1999 series the Ashes Test trophy is now an urn-shaped Waterford Crystal trophy. The original Ashes trophy is securely kept in the Lord’s Museum.

After their initial defeat, England were ready to return for a victory and it was from here that the sharp rivalry between the England and Australian cricket teams developed. It was a rivalry that would last over a century and still reins strong to this very day.

England returned to defeat the Australian cricket team in the summer of 1882/1883 in which they played three Test matches and England won 2-1. The Ashes urn was initially presented to the victorious English team as a tongue in cheek gesture. However, despite this the tradition of the urn became something of pride and victory. The English captain, Bligh, viewed the urn as a personal gift and it remained on his personal mantel piece until he passed away in 1927.

There are a number of different odds you can place bets on throughout the Ashes Series. These include Man of the Match, Top Wicket Taker and Series Top Batsman. Check out the bookmakers odds for the 2017/2019 Ashes Test.