Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour Field Features Fastest McLarens Ever

Scott McLaughlin will be behind the wheel of an YNA Autosport McLaren 650S GT3 for the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour. 

He has not raced since narrowly losing the 2017 Supercars championship at Newcastle in the closing lap of the race. 

McLaughlin’s care is the fastest to take a trail lap at Mount Panorama, so with McLaughlin as the lead driver for YNA, it would seem that we have an early favourite in the Pro-Am class.

There will be some other capable drivers, the top hand for McLaren, Andrew Watson, Australian GT winner Fraser Ross and a Swede named Alexander West. 

For reasons unknown to us, the car McLaughlin will pilot is not being raced in the all-Pro category, but it is a serious contender for the overall victory. 

The McLaren auto ran the fastest lap ever recorded at Mount Panorama in the 2016 Liqui-Moly, when Shane van Gisbergen made the circuit in just over two minutes, which was better by two seconds over the time McLaughlin posted in securing the pole for last year’s Bathurst 1000. 

Van Gisbergen will be the YNA Autosport driver for YNA’s all-Pro entry.

The McLaren looks fast just sitting around. McLaughlin has an endurance victory on his resume, from when he won for Grove Racing Porsche in the Class B division in 2016, which was his only prior start in the event. 

“I am really excited for my first attack at the Bathurst 12 Hour in Class A machinery,” McLaughlin said. “We have a great line up to attack the Pro-Am class honours but also attack the outright order. I’m looking forward to the challenge and excited to be in a fantastic car like the McLaren with some great teammates. The 12 Hour is a perfect way to start my racing season and hopefully we can kick it off with some success!”

The 2018 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour will be held from February 2 – 4.