Less Controversy and State Pride Hallmarks of Sheffield Shield Cricket

We are happy to turn our focus away, temporarily at least, from the Test cricket being played between Australia and South Africa’s Proteas, to have a look at the goings on in the Sheffield Shield.

The most recent news is that despite having five players in the top 10 in the Player of the Year voting, Queensland has seen the honour snatched from their grasp by Victorian paceman Chris Tremain.

Tremain garnered 13 votes from 10 matches for the Bushrangers and he finished as the leading wickettaker for the interstate competition.

“I’m very humbled to have been awarded the Sheffield Shield player of the Season in a year where so many players across the competition have performed to a high standard, especially my Victorian teammates and the bowling group I have the privilege of working with,” Tremain said.

Unfortunately for Tremain and the Bushrangers, however, the individual accolade cannot be exchanged for a berth in the final, something that was not lost on Tremain, who said, “Naturally we’d love to be competing in this week’s final, but to finish the season as the leading wicket-taker is a nice reward for me and my hard work during the season.”

Tremain collected 51 scalps at 21.07. His best was 10 – 143 against Western Australia. That figure was 13 better than Bushranger teammate Scott Boland’s 38 wickets for the season.

Right behind Tremain in the Player of the Year voting were second-place getters Jackson Bird of Tasmania and Nick Winter of South Australia.

Bird took 35 wickets in just seven Shield matches, while Winter took 34, despite making only five Shield appearances.

It takes more than bowling to qualify for finals, however, and Queensland finished at the top of the list and will host the final against Tasmania beginning tomorrow.

Queensland had five players who collected 11 votes – quicks Michael Neser and Luke Feldman and batsmen Charlie Humphrey, Matthew Renshaw and Usman Khawaja.

The Sheffield Shield voting is similar to the AFL, a 3 – 2 – 1 vote to the best on ground in each match.