AFL Brownlow Medal Race Looking Tight Following Season

Jack Riewoldt owns the Coleman Medal for the third time, but the Brownlow Medal is yet to be decided.

Max Gawn has received the 2018 Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year Award, which many felt would go to Patrick Cripps.

This is just the second time in eight seasons with the Melbourne Demons that Gawn has made it to the ground for all 22 games. IN taking the award, he received 97 votes, six better than Patrick Cripps.

Brownlow Medal

It could be speculated that if Cripps and the Carlton Blues had managed to win four games, rather than the two they did win in the Toyota 2018 AFL Premiership competition, Cripps would have been the winner.

Still, for Gawn, an award based on the judgement of experts, as is the case for the Coaches’ Association Award, must feel good, considering the struggles he had to get on during his first seven seasons, which included a completely lost 2012.

Charlie favourite Tom Mitchell was third in the eyes of the coaches, on 88 votes, while Brodie Grundy made it for fourth on 82 for his play as a ruckman for the Collingwood Magpies.

It was a best-on-ground performance by Gawn in a Round 22 win over the West Coast Eagles. He received the full 10 votes for his role in that surprising win. He notched another seven votes for what he did in the final round win over Greater Western Sydney.

The voters were seemingly in a generous mood, or simply had votes that had to be cast, as four players made it to 10 in Round 23, including along with Gawn, jack Macrae of the Western Bulldogs, Geelong’s Patrick Dangerfield, Jamie Cripps of West Coast and Trent Dumont of the Roos.

Gawn’s Melbourne Coach Simon Goodwin won the award 2007 in his 11th season with the Adelaide Crows.

It remains to be seen what will happen with the remaining Brownlow votes, but Dustin Martin is predicted by to come out one vote clear of Gawn, followed by Patrick Cripps, Brodie Grundy and Tom Mitchell.